England ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Squad Announced

England ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Squad Announced

England Cricket Board announced their 15-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, which will begin on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates. Numerous nations have already revealed their T20 WC 2021 squads for the prestigious tournament, and England has now entered the fray. The incumbent ODI World Cup winners will be keen to assert their influence in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 as well.

Eoin Morgan, the ace batsman, will head the side in the UAE, and it remains to be seen how they will deal without some of their best players. Ben Stokes, England’s ace all-rounder, will be missed in the team following his recent announcement of an extended hiatus from cricket due to his mental health. Jofra Archer, England’s ace pacer, will also miss the high-profile race owing to an elbow ailment.

England will proceed without Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer’s services. England’s order in the UAE will almost certainly be opened by Jason Roy and Jos Buttler. Buttler, who stepped away from international cricket during the home series against India, is considering a comeback following his second fatherhood.

It is worth noting that England has adopted a rotation program over the last year to ensure the health of its players. While players were required to spend significant time in the bio-bubble owing to COVID-19, the ECB chose alternate players.  Dawid Malan, the ICC No. 1 T20I batter, is a critical component of England’s batting lineup and will be looking to create an impression in the UAE and win the trophy for his side.

Moeen Ali’s inclusion in the team would be critical after he established his position across formats following his time warming the benches for England. He even guided the Birmingham Phoenix to victory in the Men’s Hundred. The leg-spin assault, lead by Adil Rashid, will be targeting success on the UAE’s sluggish surfaces, which favor spinners.


England Squad for ICC T20 WC 2021

Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone.

Traveling Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince


Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021 All Teams Players List