India Announced T20 World Cup 2021 Squad

India Announced T20 World Cup 2021 Squad

This year’s edition of the T20 World Cup will be held in October-November this year. The Board of Control for Cricket in India BCCI has announced a 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is on the team as a surprise.

The BCCI will keep three cricketers on standby outside the T20 WC 2021 squad. Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Tagore, and Deepak Chahar will be with the team as standby. Apart from Ravichandran Ashwin, there are no other surprises in the team. As usual, Virat Kohli will be the captain. Rohit Sharma will be his assistant.

Young cricketers Ishan Kisan and Rishabh Panth have been selected as wicketkeeper-batsmen. Opener Prithvi Shaw did not get a place in the team. Lokesh Rahul has got an opportunity as Rohit Sharma’s opening partner.

Surya Kumar Yadav has got a place in limited-overs cricket due to his great performance. Hardik Pandya and Rabindra Jadeja have been named as the team’s all-rounders. Spinning all-rounder Krunal Pandya did not get a place.

Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has not played in limited-overs cricket for the last four years for the Indian team. However, he got a place in the World Cup squad.

India’s pace bowling will be led by Jaspreet Bumrah and Bhubaneswar Kumar. Mohammad Shami has also got a place as a fast bowler. The Indian selection panel has relied on young Rahul Chahar and Akshar Patel in spin bowling.


India Squad for T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.

Stand-by: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur


Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021 Live Telecast in India