Namibia T20 World Cup 2021 Squad Announced

Namibia T20 World Cup 2021 Squad Announced

David Wiese, a former South African international player, has been named in Namibia’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup team. Namibia announced their squad for the T20 World Cup 2021, Namibia, who are making their T20 World Cup 2021 debut this year, has chosen their team to take on an aggressive Group A in the First Round, led by Gerhard Erasmus.

With the addition of younger talent who have shown hints of promise in the series against Uganda, as well as South African and Zimbabwe Rising teams, perhaps the most significant news is the admission of former South African international David Wiese, who now qualifies for the workforce.

The short-bowling all-rounder was a viable option in six ODIs and 20 T20Is up until 2016 and brings experience from touring the domestic T20 circuit. Since the 2019 World Cup Qualifier, opener Jean-Pierre Kotze and spinner Zhivago Groenewald have called quits on their international careers, while the likes of Niko Davin and Christi Viljoen have gone overlooked in favor of the country’s younger generation.

All-rounder who spins his legs Nicol Loftie-Eaton is one younger player to watch, along with Michael van Lingen, who is expected to style international cricket. Ruben Trumpelmann, 23, joins JJ Smit and Jan Frylinck as a left-arm fast trio. Namibia’s difficult introduction begins on October 19 with a match against Sri Lanka.


Namibia T20 World Cup Squad

Nicol Lofie-Eaton, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo, JJ Smit, Ruben Trumpelmann, Gerhard Erasmus (c), Stephen Baard, Karl Birkenstock. Michau du Preez, Jan Frylinck, Zane Inexperienced, Michael van Lingen, David Wiese, Craig Williams, Choosy Ya France.


Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021 All Teams and Squad