Papua New Guinea Announced Their Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Papua New Guinea Announced Their Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2021

The Papua New Guinea Cricket Board PNG has announced the 16-member squad for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup. The team will be led by experienced all-rounder Assad Valla.
For the first time, the Pacific island nation of Papua New Guinea will play in the ICC T20 World Cup. Although there are no big star players in the announced 16-member squad, there are some experienced all-rounders.

All-rounder like Norman Vanua will show Papua New Guinea a big dream. Vanua has taken a total of 35 wickets in 25 matches in the International Twenty20. Besides, Tony Ura, Assad Vala, Charles Amini are the pillars of PNG in batting. Tony Ura is PNG’s highest run-getter in T20I (61). Among the young cricketers, Simon Atai and Gaudi Tuka have been named to the T20 WC squad 2021.

Papua New Guinea’s opponents Oman, Scotland, and Bangladesh in Round 1 before the knock-out of the T20 World Cup. Despite playing with Oman and Scotland, Papua New Guinea has never played against Bangladesh in any format.


Papua New Guinea Match Schedule in First Round: (Group B)

  • 17 October, Oman
  • 19 October, Scotland
  • 21 October, Bangladesh


Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup 2021 Squad 

Assad Vala (Captain), Charles Amini, Kiplin Doriga (wk), Chad Soper, Lega Siaka, Damien Ravu, Nosaina Pokana, Gaudi Toka, Sese Bau, Simon Atai, Hiri Hiri, Norman Vanua, Tony Ura, J. Gardner, J. Kila, Vani Morea.


Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021 All Teams and Squads List