Sam Billings and Chris Woakes Return to England Squad 4th Test Against India

Sam Billings and Chris Woakes Return to England Squad 4th Test Against India

England returned to parity in the five-match Test series after losing to India by an innings and six runs in a great performance. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced the squad for the fourth Test before the end of the third Test. Jos Buttler has taken leave to be with his child-bearing wife. Wicketkeeper-batsman Sam Billings has been named as his replacement, fast bowler Chris Woakes has also return to the England squad after recovering from injury for the 4th test match against India.

The first match of the five-match Test series against England was drawn but the hosts lost the second match by 151 runs. However, in the third match at Headingley, the visitors could not stand in front of the great performances of Joe Root, James Anderson, and Oli Robinson.

Chris Woakes was last named England’s Cricketer of the Year in 2020 for his outstanding bowling performance. However, he could not play the previous three Tests against India due to injury. But this time he is confident to play the fourth match after recovering from injury.

England coach Chris Silverwood is thrilled to have a pacer at A, saying: ‘It’s great that Oaks is back. He played great for Warwickshire last week. He did not suffer any injuries. He is an asset to us. I was feeling his emptiness in bowling and batting.

Buttler, meanwhile, has taken a leave of absence as the date for his second child arrives. Wicketkeeper-batsman Sam Billings has been named to the squad as his replacement.

The ECB has included Mark Wood, who was ruled out of the third Test due to injury. He is continuing the rehabilitation process with the team.

The fourth Test will start at the Oval on September 2 this year. After three Tests in a five-match series, India and England have won one match each to tie the series 1-1.


England Squad for the 4th Test Against India 

Joe Root (captain), Moin Ali, James Anderson, Johnny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Rory Burns, Sam Karan, Hasib Hamid, Dan Lawrence, David Malan, Craig Overton, Oli Pope, Oli Robinson, Chris Woakes, Mark.


Also Read: England T20 2021 World Cup Schedule