Sri Lanka Announced the Squad against South Africa Series 2021

South Africa Tour of Sri Lanka 2021: Sri Lanka Announced the Squad against South Africa Series 

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the squad for the 2021 series against South Africa at home. Experienced Dinesh Chandimal has returned to the Sri Lankan squad along with two new faces.

Former Sri Lankan captain Kusal Perera tested positive for Corona just before the series against South Africa. He has been in isolation since then. The SLC has also included him in the squad for the series against the Proteas.

The last time Dinesh Chandimal was in the series was against the West Indies in April this year. He did not get a place in the team due to problems with the central contract with the board.

After the West Indies series, Dinesh Chandimal did not get a place in the series against Bangladesh, England, and India. Sri Lanka has worked to form a youth-dependent team with the series against Bangladesh.

Mahesh Thikshana and Pulina Tharanga got their first place in the 22-member squad. However, Lahiru Madushanka is waiting for his debut even though he did not get a place for the first time.

Dashun Shanaka is the captain of the series against Proteas. Dhananjaya de Silva will be the new vice-captain. South Africa will play a three-match ODI and T20 series in Lanka. All the matches of the series will be played at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.


Sri Lanka Squad 2021

Dashun Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Kushal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Vanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nishanka, Charith Ashalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Minodam, Minod , Dushmantha Chamira, Akila Dhananjaya, Praveen Jayavikrama, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka, Pulina Tharanga, Mahesh Thikshana.


Also Read: South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule