T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament List

T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament List

The list includes some legendary cricketers who have won the ICC T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament over the years. 

Without a doubt, there will be enormous expectations placed on a few standout individuals to perform consistently and win the ICC event as the most valuable player of the tournament. 

Player of the Tournament List: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 

Throughout the history of the T20 World Cup, several players have won the Player of the Tournament after putting up outstanding performances in the event. These cricketers have shown us the impact on a team’s ability to win the World Cup. 

1) Shahid Khan Afridi – 2007 T20 World Cup 

In the 2007 T20 World Cup, former Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi was named Man of the Series. 

Pakistan made it to the finals and faced India, however, they were unable to overcome each other and lost the match. India went on to become the first T20 cricket world champions. 

Throughout the season, the Pakistani all-rounder was very good, taking 12 wickets, scoring 91 runs, and hitting his highest score of 46 runs at bat. 

2) Tillakaratne Dilshan – 2009 T20 World Cup

In the 2009 T20 World Cup, Tilakaratne Dilshan, a former Sri Lankan all-rounder, won the Man of the Series award. Pakistan and Sri Lanka squared off in the Lord’s final of the 2009 T20 World Cup. 

Despite losing the series and failing to score a large total, Sri Lankan batsman Dilshan was named Man of the Series for his 317 runs at an average of 52.83 with three fifty-score innings. 

Despite being out for zero runs twice during the series, he emerged as the series’ top scorer and the lone player to reach the 300-run mark.

3) Kevin Pietersen – 2010 T20 World Cup

During the 2010 T20 World Cup, Kevin Pietersen, the previous captain of England, was named Man of the Series. In all, Kevin Pietersen scored 248 runs at an average of 62 and a strike rate of 137.77. He scored 47 runs in that particular game. His greatest T20 World Cup 2010 score was an undefeated 73 runs, which included two fifties.

4) Shane Watson – 2012 T20 World Cup

Despite not making it to the 2012 T20 World Cup final, Australian all-rounder Shane Watson won the Man of the Series title for his outstanding all-around performance. In the championship match, the West Indies defeated Sri Lanka. 

With 249 runs at an average of 49.80 and a strike rate of 150.00, Shane Watson led all run scorers. With 11 wickets at an economy of 7.33 and an average of 16.00, he was the second-highest wicket-taker as well.

5) Virat Kohli – 2014 T20 World Cup

In the 2014 T20 World Cup, the Indian team’s run-making maestro, Virat Kohli, was voted Man of the Series. The 2014 T20 World Cup was won by Sri Lanka, however, Virat Kohli was named Man of the Series for his incredible 319 runs at a 106.33 average and 123.45 strike rate.  

Throughout the entire event, Kohli was fantastic, smashing four fifties, ten sixes, and twenty-four fours in the series. India and Sri Lanka faced off in the championship match, with India having the potential to score 130 runs. 

In the match, Virat scored 77 runs off of 58 balls, but India was unable to reach the target and lost by six wickets.

Also Read: Daraz Live T20 World Cup

6) Virat Kohli – 2016 T20 World Cup

In the 2016 T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli won the Man of the Series for the second time for his consistent performances in the event. West Indies defeated India in the semifinals, preventing India from making it to the championship match. 

In the T20 World Cup’s history, he is the first player to win Man of the Tournament twice. West Indies won the cup in the final match between England and the Windies, but Indian batsman Virat Kohli was named Man of the Series. He amassed 273 runs at a strike rate of 146.77 and an average of 136.50 at the 2016 World Cup. With the most 4s (29 4s) in the competition, he hit the three fifty. 

7) David Warner – 2021 T20 World Cup

In the T20 World Cup 2021, Australian left-handed opener David Warner was named Man of the Series. Australia played New Zealand at the Dubai Sports City (DSC) in the final match of the T20 World Cup 2021. 

Australia easily defeated New Zealand’s target of 173, thanks to the brilliant batting of Mitchell Marsh and David Warner. Mitchell Marsh was named Man of the Match and Warner was named Man of the Tournament as Australia won the T20 World Cup for the first time. 

8) Sam Curran – 2022 T20 World Cup

Sam Curran won the ICC Player of the Tournament following his outstanding performances during the T20 World Cup 2022.

In the match, Sam Curran performed brilliantly as well, taking three wickets for 12 runs in his four-over performance. He ended with the best economy of all England’s pace bowlers, finishing with an average of 11.38, ranking eighth among all bowlers in the competition.

As England went on to win their second men’s T20 World Cup title, replicating the accomplishment of the West Indies in 2012 and 2016, Curran also became the first specialist fast bowler to win the man of the tournament.


It is never easy to maintain a high level of performance under pressure regularly, especially while playing under the lights and against elite opponents, but some players always manage to rise above it. 

Also Read: Most Wickets in T20 World Cup History