West Indies Announce Squad for the T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies Announce Squad for the T20 World Cup 2024

Rovman Powell was announced as the captain of the West Indies squad in the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This announcement comes as the Caribbean unveiled its 15-member ensemble squad for the tournament co-hosted by the USA.

West Indies Squad and Players List: T20 World Cup 2024

Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

One of the most captivating inclusions in the squad is the promising Shamar Joseph, whose scintillating performance during his Test debut series against Australia earlier this year has earned him a well-deserved spot.

With the T20I debut on the horizon, Joseph is poised to make waves on the international stage, adding depth and dynamism to the West Indies lineup.

A standout returnee to the squad is Shimron Hetmyer, whose absence in the T20I series against Australia was felt keenly. However, Hetmyer’s exploits in the ongoing IPL with the Rajasthan Royals have been nothing short of remarkable.

With 83 runs under his belt in four innings, at a staggering strike rate of 184.44, while adeptly fulfilling the finisher’s role, Hetmyer brings a wealth of experience and flair to the team.

However, with every inclusion, there come a few omissions. Kyle Mayers, who showed promise during the Australia series, finds himself omitted from the squad as the Windies opt for a lower-order batter over an opener.

Additionally, the decision to leave out pacer Oshane Thomas underscores the strategic choices made by the team management.

Also Read: New Zealand T20 World Cup Squad 2024

At the top order, the West Indies squad boasts an array of formidable talents in Johnson Charles, Brandon King, and Shai Hope. With a lineup brimming with explosive hitters and versatile all-rounders like Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, and Jason Holder, the team exudes confidence and firepower.

The presence of Sherfane Rutherford and Romario Shepherd further bolsters the squad’s depth, providing ample options in various playing conditions.

In the spin department, Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie offer their craft, while the pace battery will be spearheaded by vice-captain Shamar Joseph, with steadfast support from his namesake, Joseph.

Director of West Indies Cricket, Desmond Haynes, shed light on the meticulous selection process, emphasizing the importance of defined roles within the team. “We had a very long discussion with the situation of the batting line-up,” he remarked. “Our focus has always been on roles – roles that we want people to play.”

Haynes further elucidated the rationale behind the selection decisions, particularly regarding the inclusion of Shamar Joseph and the tough choices between Kyle Mayers and Shimron Hetmyer. “It was some very close decisions,” he admitted. “But we looked at who we wanted the extra batter batting down the order.”

Set to compete in Group C alongside Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and Uganda, the two-time Champions are primed to kick off their campaign on 2 June against Papua New Guinea in Guyana.

With a blend of experience, talent, and strategic acumen, the West Indies squad stands poised to electrify audiences and stake their claim to T20 supremacy on cricket’s grandest stage.

Scroll to Top