Top 10 Most Sixes in T20 World Cup History

Top 10 Most Sixes in T20 World Cup History

West Indies opener Chris Gayle, the Universe Boss, hit the most sixes (63) in the history of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Twenty20 is the most well-known, exciting, and the shortest cricket format in the world. Power hitters create excitement in this game’s shortest format by blasting the ball over the boundary lines.

Most Sixes in T20 World Cup: Top 10 Players

Today we will review the list of the top 10 batters who hit the most sixes in the history of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup. Needless to say, several of these players have also been among the most successful in the history of T20 cricket in general and this league in particular.

Although sixes are among the most sought-after moments in any configuration of the game, they are particularly valuable in the sport’s shortest format where there is a greater need to score fast runs.

1. Chris Gayle – 63 sixes

With good reason, Chris Gayle is regarded as the “king of Twenty20 cricket,” having smashed more sixes than any other batter in Twenty20 World Cup history. Throughout seven tournaments between 2007 and 2021, the “Universe Boss” has blasted 63 sixes in 33 matches.

The fact that Gayle has nearly twice as many sixes as the batter in second place is what makes him so amazing! In addition, he won the T20 World Cup twice, in 2012 and 2016, and with 965 runs at a strike rate of 142.75, he is the third-highest run-scorer in World Cup history.

2. Rohit Sharma – 35 sixes

With 35 maximums in 39 games, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma is second among players with the most sixes. With just two runs less than Gayle, Rohit is also the fourth-highest scorer in T20 World Cup history. He was a member of the Indian team that won the 2007 World T20 championship in South Africa.

Rohit had a challenging campaign in the most recent World Cup held in Australia. In six games, he managed to score just 116 runs at an average of less than 20. In their match against England in the semi-finals, the Indian team again lost.

3. Jos Buttler – 33 sixes

Jos Buttler, who captained the winning England squad in the 2022 T20 World Cup, has 33 maximums to his name and is tied for third place among all six hitters in T20 World Cup history. 

Since 2012, Buttler has participated in 27 games. During that time, he has amassed 799 runs at a 42.05 average and 144.48 strike rate.

Buttler was outstanding in the most recent World Cup, finishing as the fourth-highest run scorer with 225 runs at a 45 average and a 144.23 strike rate. While in Australia, he hit seven sixes.

4. Yuvraj Singh – 33 sixes

Yuvraj Singh, an Indian legend who notably struck six sixes off Stuart Broad of England in the 2007 Twenty20 WC, is currently tied for third place with 33 sixes in T20 WC history. 

Yuvraj played a key role in the Indian team’s victory in the inaugural T20 World Cup, which took place in South Africa. Between 2007 and 2016, he participated in 31 games and scored 593 runs.

5. Shane Watson – 31 sixes

Shane Watson and fellow Australian David Warner both were a tremendous opener for the Australian cricket team. Of the players in the top 10, Watson has played the fewest games, appearing in just 24 games between 2007 and 2016. 

Throughout his T20 World Cup career, Watson has amassed 31 sixes and scored 537 runs at a strike rate of 140. He played an important role in the Australian middle-order teams throughout the World Cup.

6. David Warner – 31 sixes

In the history of the T20 World Cup, fierce Australian opener David Warner has also smashed 31 sixes. Since 2009, he has participated in 34 games and amassed over 800 runs in scoring. 

In the 2021 T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, Warner finished as the leading run scorer as Australia finally took the championship for the first time.

7. AB De Villiers – 30 sixes

One of the best players in T20 World Cup history is Mr. 360 Degrees. He’s always had flamboyant, economical, and brutally entertaining batting. 

In the T20 World Cups from 2007 to 2016, De Villiers played in 30 games and struck 30 sixes. The destructive batsman from South Africa has also amassed 717 runs at an average of nearly 30 and a high strike rate of 143.40.

8. Virat Kohli – 28 sixes

The run machine Virat Kohli is the top run scorer in T20 World Cup history. Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka was just surpassed by him to take first place with 1141 runs at an incredible average of 81.50 and a strike rate of above 131. 

In just 27 games since the 2012 T20 World Cup, Kohli has amassed 14 half-centuries—more than any other player has done—while no one else has reached more than ten.

The former captain of India has amassed 103 fours. In addition, he has twice placed first in the T20 World Cup run-scoring standings (in 2014 and again in 2022). He scored 296 runs in six Australian matches. Even with his incredible stats, Kohli has never taken home the T20 World Cup trophy.

9. Dwayne Bravo – 25 sixes

Dwayne Bravo, a dynamic all-rounder for the West Indies, is also capable of hitting balls out of the park. Having participated in 34 matches between 2007 and 2021, he has smashed 34 sixes in the T20 World Cup history. Bravo has also won the T20 World Cup twice, in 2012 and 2016, much like Chris Gayle. At 126.79, he has a strike rate of 530 runs scored.

10. Mahela Jayawardene – 25 sixes

Before the 2022 edition, Mahela Jayawardene topped the run charts in the history of the Twenty20 World Cup. Now ranked second on the list, he amassed 1016 runs in 31 games from 2007 to 2014. Jayawardene batted with a strike rate of 134.74 and an average of over 40.

Although he has smashed 25 sixes, Jayawardene has hit the most boundaries in the competition’s history. Before retiring, he had amassed 111 fours and had guided Sri Lanka to victory in the 2014 T20 World Cup.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List