ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List

Explore the fascinating winners list of the ICC T20 World Cup history from the first match in 2007 to the most recent event in 2024.

T20 World Cup Winners List

2021AUSNZOman & UAE

2024: TBA

As we anticipate the 9th edition in 2024, the winners, finalists, and hosts remain undisclosed. England is the current T20 champion, but as per the recent stats, Australia is the hot favorite to win this year’s Twenty20 WC. 

2022: England vs Pakistan

England emerged victorious in the 2022 T20 World Cup, triumphing over Pakistan in the final hosted in Australia. In a fiercely contested match, England sealed the win by five wickets.

2021: Australia vs New Zealand

In the 2021 edition, Australia clinched their first T20 World Cup title by defeating New Zealand in a thrilling final held in Oman & UAE.

2016: West Indies vs England

West Indies secured their second T20 World Cup title in 2016 by defeating England in the final held in India. This marked their historic second victory, with their first triumph occurring in 2012.

2014: Sri Lanka vs India

Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the 2014 T20 World Cup, triumphing over India in the final and securing the title with a six-wicket win.

2012: West Indies vs Sri Lanka

The 2012 T20 World Cup saw West Indies claim victory by defeating Sri Lanka in the final, held in Sri Lanka. Ajantha Mendis set a record for the most wickets, and Shane Watson earned the Player of the Series accolade.

2010: England vs Australia

In 2010, England scripted their T20 World Cup triumph by defeating Australia in the final held in the West Indies. Kevin Pietersen’s stellar performance earned him the Player of the Series honor.

2009: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Pakistan redeemed themselves in the 2009 T20 World Cup, securing victory over Sri Lanka in the final held in England. Tillakaratne Dilshan shone as the Player of the Series.

2007: India vs South Africa

The inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 witnessed India claiming their maiden title under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. The triumph came after defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final in South Africa. Shahid Afridi’s outstanding performance earned him the Man of the Series accolade.


Every edition of the T20 World Cup adds a lasting legacy to cricket history. With its moments of grandeur and exceptional individual performances, the tournament never fails to spectators—from India’s maiden success to England’s recent conquest. Watch T20 World Cup 2024 Live Streaming on PTV Sports.